The Landmark Project

Felix Elschner – EPSON GERMANY GmbH

Felix Elschner         Epson for Prezi

Felix Elschner has worked at Epson Germany in the Department of contracting for 4 years. He is a member of the Task Force on Social Sustainability of BITKOM as well as involved in the working group contracting, product-related environmental protection and guide development for product-neutral tendering. Felix Elschner is father of 6 children, 50 years old, an active Protestant, beekeeper and Rhinelander.

Our vision for the environment at a glance
Considering the present situation of our planet, Epson has developed the Environmental Vision 2050 as a guide for the environmental activities of the company over the next four decades.
Epson recognizes that the carrying capacity of the Earth is reaching its limits, and is convinced that everyone alike must take responsibility for reducing environmental impact. Epson aims to reduce CO2 emissions by 90% during the life cycle of all products and services by the year 2050.
As part of the ecosystem, Epson stands up permanently for the restoration and protection of biological diversity, together with the local people.
Epson has set itself the following four key objectives for the achievement of the environmental vision 2050:
1 Reduction of CO2 emissions by 90% during the entire product life cycle
2 Inclusion of all products in the resource reuse and recycling loop
3 direct CO2-emissions by 90% and eliminate emissions of greenhouse gases other than CO2
4 Restoration and preservation of biological diversity, together with the local people as part of the ecosystem

Our goals may be very ambitious, but society – Epson is belonging to – must achieve these goals if we want to survive today’s environmental problems. To achieve these goals, we will work with customers, suppliers, non-governmental organizations, research institutions, governments and generally all the ideas can help to achieve these goals.

If we combine technological development with a common awareness of commitment and cooperation – by our suppliers, customers and various other partners – we can make steady progress and achieve the goals of Environmental Vision 2050.

Why do you take part in the conference?

We take part in this conference – Because we want to support requests for greater responsibility in the procurement / production of IT products.

Contact:

EPSON DEUTSCHLAND GmbH

Fachbereich öffentliche Auftraggeber
Otto-Hahn-Straße 4
D-40670 Meerbusch
Phone: +49 21 59 / 538-1253
Telefax: +49 21 59 / 538-3120
Mobil: +49 175 / 584-1053
E-Mail: Felix.Elschner@epson.de
Visit us: www.epson.de

Annelie Evermann – WEED e. V.

Evermann-IT-Konferenz-Rostock-13-6-13

Annelie Evermann is a consultant for sustainable production and public procurement at WEED. She is a lawyer and linguist. Through various positions at Amnesty International, the German Bundestag, the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs and lecturer activities she came to WEED in mid-2012. Her activities range from consulting for public procurement managers on the preparation of studies and background materials to network, campaigns and public relations. Annelie Evermann is project manager of the project “Sustainable IT procurement in North Rhine-Westphalia” and the EU-funded projects LANDMARK and Electronics Watch. Electronics Watch is an independent monitoring organization, checking working conditions in the global electronics industry for procurement managers (www.electronicswatch.org / de).

WEED e. V. – World Economy, Ecology and Development is established in 1990 and is an independent non-government organization. WEED deals with current issues of financial, economic and environmental policies and campaigns worldwide for social justice and environmental sustainability. An important focus of WEED e. V. lies with the production and working conditions in the electronics industry and compliance with social criteria in public procurement.

Why do you take part in the conference?

“I take part in the conference, because I consider the intense exchange of all stakeholders – companies, NGOs, politics and procurement managers – for a sustainable improvement of working conditions in the IT industry as indispensable -.”

Contact:

Eldenaer Straße 60, 10247 Berlin
Tel.: +49 (0)30 – 280 418 11
Fax: + 49 (0)30 – 275 969 28
E-Mail: annelie.evermann@weed-online.org

www.weed-online.org
www.pcglobal.org

Diana Lantzen – Nager IT

Diana Lantzen is a graduated geographer. After her graduation she worked as a freelancer in the field of Knowledge-Management & IT, then three years as an external management consultant at Deutsche Telekom AG in the area of ​​products and innovations. Since early 2013 she is working as a freelance consultant in the field of information and communication technologies, sales and management. Since 2013 there is a collaboration with Susanne Jordan of Nager IT. Diana Lantzen is politically and socially involved as Board of Directors in Cologne.

Model of the project are other global product groups such as tea, coffee, cocoa and even clothing. In these areas it is now taken for granted, to find a fair alternative in the supermarket. Experience here shows that not the big companies have the comprehension to allow their producers good working conditions from their own free will. Rather, after years of inactivity of these big companies, small projects started a beginning and brought different products on the market that were manufactured under sustainable conditions in consideration of human rights and with a view to the environment. So they have launched a development. Now some very large companies have expanded their range by a “fair” product.
The same we now want to try in the electronics industry, with our Fair Mouse. For as long as there is no alternative to the “unfair” electronic devices, existing firms are unlikely to fundamentally change anything. Without sustainable alternative there is also no market risk for them. That is why we are working on this alternative. The seemingly unattainable goal of a computer mouse without any exploitation we approach step by step, according to the motto “On the fairest> Fairer> Fair”: The first mouse version that can be ordered by now, is the Fairest mouse around at the moment. But it is not completely fair, therefore, the next will become even fairer. And so followed by other versions until we have a 100% fairly traded mouse at the end.

Why do you take part in the conference?

The conference for socially responsible procurement in the IT industry provides a good platform for exchanging experiences and networks: Joint learning and working in workshops, interesting lectures and people coming together and exchanging ideas about their common technical issues.

Contact

NagerIT eV represented by Susanne Jordan (Board)
Am Bühel 4
83673 Bichl
The formal seat of the association is in Weilheim i.OB.
Email: info@nager-it.de

https://www.nager-it.de/informationen/team
www.nager-it.de

Sabine Poell – Competence Center for Sustainable Procurement

          

Sabine Poell is head of the competence center for sustainable procurement in the Procurement Office of the Federal Ministry of the Interior (KNB). The team of five support contracting authority to buy most sustainable products or services. Means to do so include advice by email and telephone, a web platform with concrete assistance of legal bases to best-practice examples (www.nachhaltige-beschaffung.info) and in future also trainings.

“I attend at the conference, because IT procurement makes up a large part of the public purchasing,” explains Sabine Poell. “In the sector there are already some labels and standards for environmental sustainability, in particular for energy efficiency. In contrast social sustainability is still in its infancy. But even here are already good points, one of them is the stage plan to which the Procurement Office and the IT industry association BITKOM agreed last year and is based on the ILO core labor standards.

The KNB wants to push the plan even further this year and expand from hardware on the product areas of software and services.

Contact

Phone:                 +49 228 99610-2345
Email:                   nachhaltigkeit@bescha.bund.de
Adress:
Beschaffungsamt des Bundesministeriums des Innern
Kompetenzstelle für nachhaltige Beschaffung
Brühler Straße 3
53119 Bonn

Niclas Rydell
Director, Certification at TCO Development

For six years Niclas Rydell has served as Director at TCO Development and managed TCO Certified, the international sustainability certification for IT products.. His professional career started with 8 years at Intertek where he was testing IT products for the TCO certification and helped to establish a laboratory in Taiwan. For several years Niclas has participated in international standardisation work in visual ergonomics and contributed to several published scientific articles in the field. Since 2009 and the introduction of social criteria in TCO Certified Niclas has been deeply involved in this area and has built an expert network within the industry in Asia, USA and EU to find viable solutions to drive the industry in a more sustainable direction. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering.

TCO Development is owned by TCO, the Swedish Confederation for Professional Employees, a federal trade union organisation for 17 trade unions with a total of 1,2 million members. The vision of TCO Development is to work towards sustainable IT and we do it by the sustainability certification for IT-products, TCO Certified and by other tools. TCO Development works internationally and was founded in 1998 with headquarters in Stockholm, Sweden and presence in North America and Asia.

Why do you take part in the conference?

We believe that TCO Certified represents one possible solution to the growing problem of social violations within the IT industry. Public procurers and purchasers are an important demand shaper for more sustainable procurement. They have significant influence and can potentially change a market.

A recent project

Since 2009 criteria for social responsibility in the manufacturing of IT-products has been an important part of the TCO Certified program. The first criteria were set at a basic level and served as an important step for initiating a dialogue with the IT-industry about social responsibility. In 2012 we raised the level of criteria and asked for compliance with ILO core labour standards, occupational health and safety in manufacturing and the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. At first no brand could fulfil the criteria. Today 17 brands share their social audit reports with us. These aspects and issues will be addressed at the conference and we look forward to contributing to the discussion topics at the event.

Contact

TCO Development
Linnégatan 14
SE11494  Stockholm
Sweden
www.tcodevelopment.com

Kevin Slaten – China Labour Watch

Kevin Slaten has been committed to research of and advocacy in Chinese civil society since 2008. He has a Master’s degree in Advanced Chinese Language from The Ohio State University, for which he carried out a year of field research in factory districts of Qingdao, China focusing on the subject of Chinese labor rights defense. Before that, Mr. Slaten was a Junior Fellow in the China Program of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (a think tank in Washington D.C.) and a Fulbright Grantee in Taiwan. He also has a Bachelor’s degree from The Ohio State University, where he majored in sociology and political science.

Mr. Slaten has been the program coordinator of China Labor Watch (CLW) since 2012. In this capacity, he has played the primary role in the writing of a number of well-known CLW investigative reports related the IT industry, including “Apple’s Unkept Promises: Investigation of Three Pegatron Group Factories Supplying to Apple” and “An Investigation of Eight Samsung Factories in China”. Mr. Slaten is also sometimes involved in the data collection of investigations, speaking to factory workers about rights violations. Mr. Slaten has spoken widely about Chinese labor rights violations in international media, including in the BBC, Washington Post, CNBC, Al Jazeera, Bloomberg, and other news organizations.

CLW is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization headquartered in New York City. Since labor activist and current executive director Li Qiang founded the organization in 2000, CLW has successfully administered programs aimed at promoting workers’ rights and the rule of law in China, conducting over 400 factory investigations, helping establish 15 Chinese labor NGOs, training hundreds of workers and Chinese labor activists, and implementing hotline programs in over 110 factories.

Contact

Kevin Slaten can be contacted at CLW’s headquarter office in NYC at 212-244-4049.

E-Mail: kevin@chinalaborwatch.org

_____________________________________________________________________________

Contact | Imprint

The Landmark Project

Felix Elschner – EPSON DEUTSCHLAND GmbH

Felix Elschner         Epson for Prezi

Felix Elschner ist seit 4 Jahren bei Epson Deutschland im Fachbereich öffentliche Auftraggeber tätig. Er ist Mitglied in der TaskForce Soziale Nachhaltigkeit des BITKOM sowie in dem AK öffentliche Auftraggeber, Produktbezogener Umweltschutz und Leitfadenentwicklung für produktneutrale Ausschreibungen engagiert. Felix Elschner ist Familienvater von 6 Kindern, 50 Jahre alt, aktiv evangelisch ,Imker und Rheinländer.

Unsere Umweltvision auf einen Blick

In Anbetracht der heutigen Situation unserer Erde hat Epson die Umweltvision 2050 als Anleitung für die Umweltaktivitäten des Unternehmens über die nächsten vier Jahrzehnte entwickelt.

Epson erkennt, dass die Belastungsfähigkeit der Erde an ihre Grenzen stößt, und ist der Überzeugung, dass jeder gleichermaßen Verantwortung für die Reduzierung von Umweltbelastungen übernehmen muss. Epson strebt eine Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen um 90 % während des Lebenszyklus aller Produkte und Services bis zum Jahr 2050 an.

Als Teil des Ökosystems setzt sich Epson dauerhaft für die Wiederherstellung und den Schutz der biologischen Vielfalt gemeinsam mit den Menschen vor Ort ein.

Epson hat sich für die Verwirklichung der Umweltvision 2050 folgende vier Schlüsselziele gesetzt:

1. Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen um 90 % während des gesamten Produktlebenszyklus
2. Einbeziehung aller Produkte in den Ressourcenwiederverwendungs- und Recycling-Kreislauf
3. Reduzierung der direkten CO2-Emissionen um 90 % und Eliminierung der Emissionen anderer Treibhausgase außer CO2
4. Wiederherstellung und Bewahrung der biologischen Vielfalt gemeinsam mit den Menschen vor Ort als Teil des Ökosystems

Unsere Ziele mögen sehr ambitioniert sein, aber die Gesellschaft – und Epson gehört dazu – muss diese Ziele erreichen, wenn wir die heutigen Umweltprobleme überstehen wollen. Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, werden wir mit Kunden, Lieferanten, nichtstaatlichen Organisationen, Forschungsinstituten, Regierungen und überhaupt allen zusammenarbeiten, die Ideen zur Verwirklichung dieser Ziele beitragen können.

Wenn wir technologische Entwicklung mit einem gemeinsamen Bewusstsein für Verpflichtung und Zusammenarbeit – von Seiten unserer Lieferanten, Kunden und den verschiedenen anderen Partnern weltweit – kombinieren, können wir stetige Fortschritte machen und die Ziele der Umweltvision 2050 erreichen.

Warum nehmen Sie an der Konferenz teil?

Wir nehmen an dieser Konferenz teil – Weil wir die Forderungen nach mehr Verantwortung in der Beschaffung / Herstellung von  IT – Produkten unterstützen wollen.

Kontaktdaten:

EPSON DEUTSCHLAND GmbH

Fachbereich öffentliche Auftraggeber
Otto-Hahn-Straße 4
D-40670 Meerbusch
Telefon: +49 21 59 / 538-1253
Telefax: +49 21 59 / 538-3120
Mobil: +49 175 / 584-1053
E-Mail: Felix.Elschner@epson.de
Visit us: www.epson.de

Annelie Evermann – WEED e. V.

Evermann-IT-Konferenz-Rostock-13-6-13

Annelie Evermann ist Referentin für nachhaltige Produktion und öffentliche Beschaffung bei WEED. Sie ist Juristin und Sprachwissenschaftlerin. Über verschiedene Stellen bei Amnesty International, dem Deutschen Bundestag, dem Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales und Lektortätigkeiten gelangte sie Mitte 2012 zu WEED. Ihr Tätigkeitsfeld reicht von der Beratung für öffentliche Beschaffungsverantwortliche über die Erstellung von Studien und Hintergrundmaterialien bis hin zu Netzwerk-, Kampagnen- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

Annelie Evermann ist Projektleiterin des Projekts „Nachhaltige IT-Beschaffung in NRW“ und der EU-geförderten Projekte LANDMARK und Electronics Watch. Electronics Watch ist eine unabhängige Monitoring-Organisation, die für Beschaffungsverantwortliche die Arbeitsbedingungen in der globalen Elektronikindustrie überprüft (www.electronicswatch.org/de).

WEED e.V. – Weltwirtschaft, Ökologie und Entwicklung wurde 1990 gegründet und ist eine unabhängige Nichtregierungsorganisation. WEED beschäftigt sich mit aktuellen Problemen der Finanz-, Wirtschafts- und Umweltpolitik und setzt sich für soziale Gerechtigkeit und ökologische Tragfähigkeit weltweit ein. Ein wichtiger Schwerpunkt von WEED e.V. liegt bei den Produktions- und Arbeitsbedingungen in der Elektronikbranche sowie der Einhaltung von sozialen Kriterien bei der öffentlichen Beschaffung.

Warum nehmen Sie an der Konferenz teil?

„Ich nehme an der Konferenz teil, weil ich den intensiven Austausch aller Stakeholder – Unternehmen, NGOs, Politik und Beschaffungsverantwortliche – für eine nachhaltige Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen in der IT-Branche für unabdingbar halte.“

Kontaktdaten:

Weed e. V.
Eldenaer Straße 60, 10247 Berlin
Tel.: +49 (0)30 – 280 418 11
Fax: + 49 (0)30 – 275 969 28
E-Mail: annelie.evermann@weed-online.org

www.weed-online.org
www.pcglobal.org

Diana Lantzen – Nager IT

Diana Lantzen ist studierte Diplom Geografin. Sie arbeitete nach dem Studium als Freiberuflerin im Bereich Wissensmanagement & IT, dann 3 Jahre als externe Unternehmensberaterin bei der Deutschen Telekom AG im Bereich Produkte und Innovationen und seit Anfang 2013 als freiberufliche Unternehmensberaterin im Bereich Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien, Vertrieb und Management.
Seit 2013 besteht eine Zusammenarbeit mit Susanne Jordan von Nager IT. Diana Lantzen engagiert sich als Vereinsvorstand politisch und sozial in Köln.
Vorbild des Projektes sind andere globale Produktgruppen wie Tee, Kaffee, Kakao oder auch Kleidung. In diesen Bereichen ist es mittlerweile selbstverständlich, auch im Supermarkt eine faire Alternative zu finden. Die Erfahrung hier zeigt, dass nicht die großen Firmen von sich aus ein Einsehen haben, und aus freien Stücken ihren Produzenten gute Arbeitsbedingungen ermöglichen. Vielmehr haben nach Jahre langer Untätigkeit dieser großen Unternehmen kleine Projekte einen Anfang gemacht und selbst verschiedene Produkte auf den Markt gebracht, die unter nachhaltigen Bedingungen gefertigt wurden, also unter Berücksichtigung der Menschenrechte und mit Blick auf die Umwelt. Damit haben sie eine Entwicklung angestoßen, die dazu geführt hat, dass nun auch sehr große Firmen ihr Sortiment um ein „faires“ Produkt erweitert haben.
Das gleiche wollen wir nun in der Elektronikbranche mit unserer Fairen Maus versuchen. Denn solange es keine Alternative zu den „unfairen“ elektronischen Geräten gibt, werden die bestehenden Firmen wohl kaum grundlegend etwas ändern. Ohne nachhaltigere Alternative gibt es ja auch kein Marktrisiko für sie. Deswegen arbeiten wir an dieser Alternative.
Dem scheinbar unerreichbaren Ziel einer Computermaus ohne jegliche Ausbeutung nähern wir uns Schritt für Schritt, nach dem Motto »Am Fairsten > Fairer > Fair«: Die erste Version Maus, die es ab jetzt hier zu bestellen gibt, ist die Fairste Maus, die es derzeit gibt. Sie ist aber noch nicht komplett fair, daher wird die nächste noch fairer. Und so folgen weitere Versionen, bis wir am Ende eine 100% fair gehandelte Maus haben.

Warum nehmen Sie an der Konferenz teil?

Die Fachkonferenz für sozialverträgliche Beschaffung in der IT-Industrie bietet eine gute Plattform zum Erfahrungsaustausch und Netzwerken. Gemeinsames Lernen und Arbeiten in Workshops, spannende Vorträge und Menschen kommen zusammen und tauschen sich zu ihren, gemeinsamen Fachthemen aus.

Kontaktdaten:

NagerIT e.V. vertreten durch Susanne Jordan (Vorstand)
Am Bühel 4
83673 Bichl
Der formelle Sitz des Vereins ist in Weilheim i.OB.
Email: info@nager-it.de

https://www.nager-it.de/informationen/team
www.nager-it.de

Sabine Poell – Kompetenzstelle für nachhaltige Beschaffung

              

Sabine Poell ist Leiterin der Kompetenzstelle für nachhaltige Beschaffung beim Beschaffungsamt des BMI (KNB). Das fünfköpfige Team unterstützt öffentliche Auftraggeber dabei, möglichst nachhaltige Produkte oder Dienstleistungen einzukaufen. Mittel dazu sind unter anderem Beratung per E-Mail und Telefon, eine Webplattform mit konkreten Hilfen von Rechtsgrundlagen bis hin zu Best-Practice-Beispielen (www.nachhaltige-beschaffung.info) und künftig auch Schulungen.

„An der Konferenz nehme ich teil, weil IT-Beschaffungen einen Großteil des öffentlichen Einkaufs ausmachen“, erklärt Sabine Poell. „In diesem Bereich gibt es zwar schon einige Labels und Standards zur ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit, insbesondere zur Energieeffizienz. Die soziale Nachhaltigkeit steckt demgegenüber noch in den Kinderschuhen. Aber auch hier gibt es schon gute Ansätze; einer davon ist der Stufenplan, auf den sich das Beschaffungsamt und der IT-Branchenverband BITKOM im letzten Jahr geeinigt haben und der sich an den ILO-Kernarbeitsnormen orientiert. Den Plan möchte die KNB noch in diesem Jahr weiter vorantreiben und von Hardware auch auf die Produktbereiche Software und Dienstleistungen erweitern.

Kontaktdaten:

Telefon:              +49 228 99610-2345
Email:                  nachhaltigkeit@bescha.bund.de
Anschrift:
Beschaffungsamt des Bundesministeriums des Innern
Kompetenzstelle für nachhaltige Beschaffung
Brühler Straße 3
53119 Bonn

Niclas Rydell – TCO Development

Seit sechs Jahren arbeitet Niclas Rydell als Direktor für Produkte und Zertifizierung bei TCO Development und leitet TCO Certified, die internationale Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierung für IT-Produkte. Seine berufliche Laufbahn begann bei Intertek, wo er 8 Jahre arbeitet und IT-Produkte für die TCO-Zertifizierung testete. Darüber hinaus half er bei der Einrichtung eines Forschungslabors in Taiwan. Seit mehreren Jahren beteiligt sich Niclas an der internationalen Normung der visuellen Ergonomie und hat bei mehreren publizierten wissenschaftlichen Artikeln auf diesem Gebiet mitgearbeitet. Seit 2009 und der Einführung von sozialen Kriterien bei TCO Certified hat Niclas ein Expertennetzwerk aufgebaut, das innerhalb der Industrie in Asien, Europa und den USA existiert. Ziel war es, tragfähige Lösungen zu finden, um die Industrie nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Niclas verfügt über einen Bachelor of Science in Elektrotechnik.

TCO Development gehört zu TCO, dem Dachverband der schwedischen Angestelltengewerkschaften, eine Bundesgewerkschaftsorganisation für 17 Gewerkschaften mit insgesamt 1,2 Millionen Mitgliedern. Die Vision von TCO Development ist es, zur nachhaltigen IT hinzuwirken und sie tun es durch die Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierung für IT-Produkte, TCO Certified und andere Maßnahmen. TCO Development arbeitet international und wurde 1998 mit Hauptsitz in Stockholm, Schweden, und der Präsenz in Nordamerika und Asien gegründet.

Warum nehmen Sie an der Konferenz teil?

Wir glauben, dass TCO Certified eine mögliche Lösung für das wachsende Problem der sozialen Ungerechtigkeit und der Verletzung der Menschenrechte in der IT-Industrie darstellt. Öffentliche Auftraggeber und Käufer sind wichtige Gestalter der Nachfrage für mehr nachhaltige Beschaffung. Sie haben erheblichen Einfluss und können möglicherweise einen Markt ändern.

Ein kürzlich durchgeführtes Projekt

Seit 2009 sind Kriterien für soziale Verantwortung in der Herstellung von IT-Produkten ein wichtiger Bestandteil des TCO Certified-Programms. Die ersten Kriterien schufen eine Basis und dienten als wichtiger Schritt für einen Dialog mit der IT-Branche über die soziale Verantwortung. Im Jahr 2012 erhöhten wir das Niveau der Kriterien und verlangten die Einhaltung der ILO-Kernarbeitsnormen, Arbeits-und Gesundheitsschutz in der Herstellung und der UN-Konvention über die Rechte des Kindes. Zunächst konnte keine Marke die Kriterien erfüllen. Heute teilen 17 Marken ihre sozialen Prüfungsberichte mit uns. Diese Aspekte und Fragen werden auf der Konferenz angesprochen werden und wir freuen uns, zu den Diskussionsthemen auf der Veranstaltung beitragen zu

Kontaktdaten:

TCO Development
Linnégatan 14
SE11494  Stockholm
Schweden
www.tcodevelopment.de

Kevin Slaten – China Labor Watch

Kevin Slaten hat sich seit 2008 der Forschung und der Interessenvertretung der chinesischen Zivilgesellschaft verschrieben. Er hat seinen Master-Abschluss in Advanced Chinese Language an der Ohio State University erlangt, für die er ein Jahr Feldforschung in Fabrikbezirken von Qingdao, China betrieben hat und das Schwerpunktthema chinesische Arbeitsrechtsverteidigung bearbeitete. Zuvor war Herr Slaten ein Junior Fellow in dem chinesischen Programm der Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (eine Denkfabrik in Washington DC) und ein Fulbright-Stipendiat in Taiwan. Er hat auch einen Bachelor-Abschluss von der Ohio State University, wo er Soziologie und Politikwissenschaft studierte.

Herr Slaten ist seit 2012 der Programmkoordinator von China Labor Watch (CLW). In dieser Funktion nahm er die zentrale Rolle beim Schreiben einer Reihe von bekannten CLW Untersuchungsberichten ein, die sich mit der IT-Branche beschäftigen, darunter „Apple‘s Unkept Promises: Investigation of Three Pegatron Group Factories Supplying to Apple” und “An Investigation of Eight Samsung Factories in China”. Herr Slaten wird manchmal auch in der Datensammlung von Untersuchungen beteiligt, indem er Gespräche mit Fabrikarbeitern über Rechtsverletzungen führt. Herr Slaten hat in zahlreichen, weitreichenden internationalen Medien über die chinesischen Arbeitsrechts­verletzungen gesprochen, so auch in der BBC, Washington Post, CNBC, Al Jazeera, Bloomberg und anderen Nachrichtenorganisationen.

CLW ist eine unabhängige Non-Profit-501 (c) (3) Organisation mit Sitz in New York City. Seit Gewerkschaftsaktivist und aktueller Geschäftsführer Li Qiang im Jahr 2000 die Organisation gegründet hat, hat CLW erfolgreich Programme durchgeführt, die zur Förderung der Arbeitnehmerrechte und der Rechtsstaatlichkeit in China beigetragen haben. Hierfür wurden über 400 Fabriken untersucht, es wurde dabei geholfen 15 chinesischen Arbeits-NGOs zu etablieren, Trainings für hunderte Arbeiter und chinesische Arbeitsaktivisten veranstaltet und Hotline-Programme in mehr als 110 Fabriken umgesetzt.

Kontaktdaten

Kevin Slaten kann in dem CLW-Hauptsitz in New York City unter 212-244-4049 kontaktiert werden.

E-Mail: kevin@chinalaborwatch.org