The Landmark Project

Review of the first conference for socially responsible IT procurement on 13 June 2013 in Rostock

Since 2009 the federal legislation allows the public sector in the procurement of goods and services to take into account not only economic but also environmental and social criteria in their tenders. In some product sectors, there are meaningful seal or certificates, such as the fair trade label on food, sports balls and flowers or XertifiX when buying natural stones. Even the textile sector is on the move, so clothing companies increasingly accede the Fair Wear Foundation or have their products certified by the GOTS-standard. In a booming industry, however, the enforcement of workers’ rights and environmental standards can apparently take long to wait for: The IT industry with its extremely complex supply structures makes headlines with scandalous working conditions again and again. What is to be done to start a positive trend here? The key could be the public sector as major consumers. What contribution can procurers in ministries and departments to not only this country make, but also and especially to Asia, Africa and Latin America to improve production conditions? In the framework of the conference “Socially responsible procurement of IT hardware in Northern Germany”  the five North German development country networks want to answer this question. In addition to NGO representatives and purchasers of various federal and nationwide acting institutions employees of the Workers’ Assistance Center (Philippines) and Fair Phone (Netherlands) occur and exchange ideas about the possibilities of socially responsible public procurement in the electronics area.

The conference took place on 13 Juni 2013 10.30 – 16.30 clock at the Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Faculty of the University of Rostock, Justus-von-Liebig-Weg 6, 18059 Rostock.

The program flyer is available here.

Presentations of the inputs:

Salve Valenciano, Workers Assistance Center, Rosario, Philippines: PDF here

Annelie Evermann, weed – World Economy, Ecology and Development, Berlin: PDF here

Niclas Rydell, TCO Development, Stockholm, Sweden: PDF here

Susanne Jordan, Nager-IT, Bichl: PDF hier/here

Miquel Ballester, Fairphone, Amsterdam, Netherlands: PDF here

Klaus-Peter Tiedtke, Bundesbeschaffungsamt, Bonn: PDF hier/here

Kirsten Wiese, Senatorin für Finanzen, LANDMARK-Projekt, Bremen: PDF in English here

Click here for the participants list.

You can find the results of the evaluation here (bilingual Version, see English on 2nd sheet).

The conference followed up on the technical discussion on socially responsible IT procurement of 29 In November 2012 in Norderstedt, whose documentation is available here.

Impressions of the conference:

  

  

Salve Valenciano                                          Niclas Rydell

  

Senator Holger Matthäus & Salve Valenciano

  
Susanne Jordan
  
  
Miquel Ballester                              Klaus-Peter Tiedtke

                                                                       Kirsten Wiese

  

                                                       Annelie Evermann
You can order pictures with higher resolution here: schwartz@eine-welt-mv.de
Interesting about socially responsible procurement is the short movie review of social standards in public procurement by our project partner LANDMARK Project:

The conference is a collaboration of five North German one-world-country networks with the State Office for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Geology MV, the science collaborations Um-Welt and IuK at the University of Rostock and weed – World Economy, Ecology & Development eV and the LANDMARK project: www.landmark-project.eu/de.

Funded by the North German Foundation for Environment and Development (NUE) from the proceeds of bingo – the environment Lottery and the European Union. The speakers are solely responsible for the content of this event. The content can be viewed in any way as the position of the European Union.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Contact | Imprint

The Landmark Project

Rückschau auf die erste Fachkonferenz für sozialverträgliche IT-Beschaffung am 13. Juni 2013 in Rostock

Seit 2009 erlaubt die Bundesgesetzgebung der öffentlichen Hand, bei der Beschaffung von Waren und Dienstleistungen, nicht nur wirtschaftliche, sondern auch ökologische und soziale Kriterien in ihren Ausschreibungen zu berücksichtigen. Bei einigen Produktbereichen gibt es aussagekräftige Siegel oder Zertifikate, wie z.B. das Fairtrade-Siegel bei Lebensmitteln, Sportbällen und Blumen oder XertifiX beim Kauf von Natursteinen. Auch im Textilbereich ist einiges in Bewegung, so treten zunehmend Bekleidungsunternehmen der FairWearFoundation bei oder lassen ihre Produkte nach dem GOTS-Standard siegeln. Bei einer Boombranche jedoch lässt die Durchsetzung von Arbeitnehmer_innenrechten und ökologischen Standards scheinbar besonders lange auf sich warten: Die IT-Branche mit ihren äußerst komplexen Zulieferstrukturen macht immer wieder mit skandalösen Arbeitsbedingungen Schlagzeilen. Was ist aber zu tun, um hier eine positive Entwicklung einzuläuten? Der Schlüssel könnte die öffentliche Hand als Großverbraucherin sein. Welchen Beitrag können Beschaffer_innen in Ministerien und Ämtern leisten, um die Produktionsbedingungen nicht nur hierzulande, sondern auch und besonders in Asien, Afrika und Lateinamerika zu verbessern? Dieser Frage wollen die fünf norddeutschen entwicklungspolitischen Landesnetzwerke im Rahmen der Fachkonferenz „Sozialverträgliche Beschaffung von IT-Hardware in Norddeutschland“ nachgehen. Neben NGO-Vertreter_innen und Beschaffer_innen verschiedener bundes- und landesweit agierender Institutionen treten Mitarbeiter_innen des Workers‘ Assistance Center (Philippinen) und von FairPhone (Niederlande) auf und tauschen sich über die Möglichkeiten sozialverträglicher öffentlicher Beschaffung im Elektronikbereich aus.

Die Konferenz fand am 13. Juni 2013 von 10.30 bis 16.30 Uhr an der Agrar- und Umweltwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Rostock, Justus-von-Liebig-Weg 6, 18059 Rostock statt.

Den Programmflyer finden Sie hier.

Präsentationen zu den Inputs:

Salve Valenciano, Workers Assistance Center, Rosario, Philippinen: PDF hier

Annelie Evermann, weed – World Economy, Ecology and Development, Berlin: PDF hier

Niclas Rydell, TCO Development, Stockholm, Schweden: PDF hier

Susanne Jordan, Nager-IT, Bichl: PDF hier

Miquel Ballester, Fairphone, Amsterdam, Niederlande: PDF hier

Klaus-Peter Tiedtke, Bundesbeschaffungsamt, Bonn: PDF hier

Kirsten Wiese, Senatorin für Finanzen, LANDMARK-Projekt, Bremen: PDF hier

Hier finden Sie die Teilnehmendenliste.

Hier finden Sie die Ergebnisse der Evaluation.

Die Konferenz knüpfte an das Fachgespräch zu sozialverträglicher IT-Beschaffung vom 29. November 2012 in Norderstedt an, dessen Dokumentation hier abrufbar ist.
Eindrücke von der Konferenz:

  

  

Salve Valenciano                                          Niclas Rydell

  

Senator Holger Matthäus & Salve Valenciano

  
Susanne Jordan
  
  
Miquel Ballester                              Klaus-Peter Tiedtke

                                                                       Kirsten Wiese

  

                                                       Annelie Evermann

Bilder können in höherer Auflösung unter schwartz@eine-welt-mv.de angefordert werden.

Sehenswert zum Thema sozialverträgliche Beschaffung ist der Kurzfilm Überprüfung sozialer Standards in der öffentlichen Beschaffung unseres Projektpartners LANDMARK Project:

Die Konferenz ist eine Kooperation der fünf norddeutschen Eine-Welt-Landesnetzwerke mit dem Landesamt für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Geologie M-V, den Wissenschaftsverbünden Um-Welt und IuK der Universität Rostock sowie weed – Weltwirtschaft, Ökologie & Entwicklung e.V. und dem LANDMARK-Projekt: www.landmark-project.eu/de.

Gefördert durch die Norddeutsche Stiftung für Umwelt und Entwicklung (NUE) aus Erträgen von Bingo – die Umweltlotterie und die Europäische Union. Für den Inhalt dieser Veranstaltung sind allein die Referent_innen verantwortlich. Der Inhalt kann in keiner Weise als Standpunkt der Europäischen Union angesehen werden.

 

_____________________________________________________________________________

Kontakt | Impressum